GCSE - Single Award


Year 8 - 11 – Single Award

At Key Stage 3 level students will be introduced to the exciting world of ICT. At key stage 3 students will be building on what they have learned in primary school and adding new skills to what they may have previously learned.
The main changes to the GCSE 2012 linear ICT (two-year courses) for first assessments in June 2014, compared to the GCSE 2010 modular ICT specification are as follows:

  • • Linear assessment structure: exams are taken at the end of the course
  • No content change to the specification
  • Controlled assessment can be completed at any time during the course
  • No re-sits before cash-in.

Unit 1: Living in a Digital World

In this unit, students discover how digital technology affects the lives of individuals, organisations and society. They will be learning about current and evolving digital technologies and the issues which have arisen by their use in a range of contexts (learning and earning, leisure, shopping and money management, health and wellbeing). They develop an understanding of the risks that are essential in using ICT and the features of safe, secure and responsible practice.

Living in a Digital World makes up 40% of GCSE ICT and is assessed through a 90-minute written examination.

Unit 2: Using Digital Tools

This is a practical unit- students broaden and enhance their ICT skills and capability. They work with a range of digital tools and techniques to produce effective ICT solutions in a range of contexts. They learn to reflect critically on their own and others’ use of ICT and to adopt safe, secure and responsible practice.
Using Digital Tools makes up 60% of GCSE ICT and is assessed through a Controlled Assessment Brief (CAB). A new CAB is produced each year and made available for download on the GCSE page on the Edexcel website.